Operational IT Committee


May 10, 2014
The UT Digital Experience is in redesign.

Jan 31, 2014
Qualtrics will be offered as a common good survey creation and administration tool.

Nov 15, 2013
OIT Unanimously endorsed the high speed network roadmap to increase broadband connectivity speed to 100GB.


The Operational Information Technology (IT) Committee works closely with the Strategic IT Accountability Board(SITAB) and with the subject-area committees. While overall strategies and priorities are set by SITAB, the Operational IT Committee defines and recommends approaches to key IT issues requiring decisions. Project priorities, initiative management, and forecasting are all important responsibilities of this committee.

The Operational Information Technology Committee asks the Business ServicesResearch and Educational Technology, and IT Architecture & Infrastructure Committees to take the lead in exploring new IT opportunities, resolving IT issues and recommending courses of action. Additionally, the committee launches special‐interest task forces to address and make recommendations on issues that span all three areas. The Operational IT Committee also governs the exploration and funding of new services as well as sun-setting services that have reached end of life.

Committee Members

Chair: Esther Raizen

Name Position & Organization

Brad Englert

University Chief Information Officer and ITS Chief Operating Officer, Office of the Chief Information Officer

Bruce Porter, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Department of Computer Science, College of Natural Sciences

Dan Slesnick, Ph.D.

Senior Vice Provost for Resource Management, Executive Vice President & Provost

David Laude, Ph.D.

Senior Vice Provost for Enrollment and Graduation Management, Executive Vice President & Provost

Deanna T Schexnayder

Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration, LBJ School of Public Affairs

Esther Raizen, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research, College of Liberal Arts

Gage Paine, Ph.D.

Vice President for Student Affairs, Student Affairs

Jerry Speitel, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Cockrell School of Engineering

Kathy Foster

Associate Vice Provost for Academic Business Affairs, Office of the Provost

Kristi Fisher

Chair BSC, Information Management and Analysis

Laurie Mackey

Director - Administrative Services, Division of Housing & Food Service

Mike Horn

Director of Digital Strategy, Office of the President

Pat Davis, Ph.D.

Chair R&E, The College of Pharmacy

Paul Newman Sr.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Red McCombs School of Business

Rich Janes

Chair AIC, Technology Resources



Download Adobe Reader. Trouble viewing linked documents? Download Adobe Reader.

Meeting Information

Fourth Wednesday of every other month (subject to change).

Jul 23
Mar 21
Feb 26
Jan 22
Dec 13

Current Projects